top of page
Harsh Crop Background.png



Wheelchair basketball was one of the foundation sports at the first Paralympic Games in Rome, 1960.The game was initiated in the late 1940’s when basketball players returned from World War II to the U.S.A unable to play able-bodied basketball adapted the rules to enable it to be played in wheelchairs.

South Australia has a long rich history in wheelchair basketball with multiple national league wins throughout the years. 

Women's national league titles include 1986, 1990, 1991, 1992

Men’s national league titles include 1978, 1982, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1993, 1994, 1995,

South Australia has had multiple athletes be selected for the Australian Rollers and Gliders (the male and female nation teams), this includes gold medalists David Gould, Troy Andrews, Richard Oliver and Tim Maloney, who won gold at the 1996 Atlanata paralympic games, Kevin Borden, Sharon Slann (silver medalist 2000 paralympic games), and Sue Hobbs the first captain of the Gliders, just to name a few. 

Wheelchair basketball in SA was assisted by Disability Recreation and Sports Services, and prior to DRSS wheelchair sports SA. With little funding and changes in governing bodies South Australia continued to host social games for players of all ability levels to play and provide training for up and coming talent. This was spearheaded by the players passionate about playing wheelchair basketball and in 2019 South Australian Wheelchair Basketball Association was formed. SA wheelchair basketball association is run by volunteers passionate about wheelchair basketball and providing a sport for all to access. 

bottom of page